SCMEF Spring Scholarships

SCMEF presented the 2018 CM Scholarship awards to 10 students this year at the Inaugural Richard A. Nickles Memorial Scholarship & Awards Reception held on May 8th at the Harper Alumni Center at Sacramento State.


The opening reception concluded with the premier of the 2018 Reno Competition Video and was followed by opening remarks from: President Dr. Robert Nelsen, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dr. Ching-Hua Wang, and ECS College Dean, Dr. Lorenzo Smith.


This year’s event served as a tribute to Professor Richard A. Nickles (Dick), who in 1975 joined the civil engineering faculty at Sac State where he developed and championed the school’s construction management program.  Dick’s daughter, Julia was the guest speaker and shared wonderful memories and pictures honoring Dick’s life over the years and his contribution to both the construction industry and the college.


Henry Meier, SCMEF’s Chair of student activities acknowledged the students and coaches who participated in this year’s Reno Competition in February bringing home 2- 1st Place wins for the Electrical and Concrete Teams, 1 – 2nd place for the Design Build Team and 1 – 3rd Place for the Mixed Use Team.


Finally, Mike Penney, SCMEF’s Scholarship Committee Chair presented scholarships totaling $10,000.



Back Row: Jeff Meier, Thomas Johnston, Isidro Martinez, Mike Penney
Middle Row: ECS College Dean Lorenzo Smith, Doug Van Camp, Courtney Smit, Casey McKenzie
Front Row: Omar Garcia, Zuley Mendoza Cano, Linda Tran, Jasper Ortiz